Tags

, , , ,

Alternative/Natural Remedies ❤

I hear a lot of people say they don’t know where to start when it comes to alternative health remedies.  There’s homeopathics, essential oils, herbs, tinctures, teas, bath salts, health shakes, energy bars, and supplements galore!  They see people around them using them, but again, the problem is where do I start? There’s so much to choose from!  How do I know if it’s right for me?  And finally, I feel overwhelmed!

This is something that is going to be a personal journey unique to you.  You don’t have to learn everything there is to know about it.  And you don’t have to learn it all overnight.  But I’d like to help in this area too by giving you a good starting point to help you get your journey off to a great start.

What is something that you or someone in your family is suffering from?  I’m talking about a condition or symptoms.  Maybe you get headaches that makes you reach for ibuprofen or acetaminophen (tylenol) a lot.  Maybe you  have allergies and are dependent on pharmaceutical medication that sort of helps, sort of doesn’t.  Maybe you just want to know what you can take for the next cough, cold, or fever that doesn’t come from the drugstore.  Maybe you want to know what alternatively you can do for that ear or toothache, or for menstrual cramping and heavy bleeding.  Maybe you suffer from something a little bit more serious like nerve pain or asthma.  Maybe you have a more chronic type condition like arthritis, fibromyalgia, or even cancer.  Whatever it is, usually everybody or someone in their family has something or has a condition or symptoms that come up frequently, whether it is big or small, that they are passionate about solving naturally/alternatively.

Knowing this is the key to where to start for you on your journey.

Once you find something you want to solve for, start researching.  I do a lot of my research online.  You can ask for help at the health food store.  You can consult a naturopath, a nutritionist, your chiropractor, or a friend who has conquered that successfully in their family.  Go with your gut instincts.  If you feel led to go in a direction of research, even though you don’t know why, go there.  If you feel a check about something in your gut, listen to it.  There is no better expert on you and your family than you.  A long list of letters behind your name doesn’t make them a better expert than you.  I still consult experts and listen to what they have to say, but I make the final conclusion and decision.  I don’t hand over control of my health to someone else.

EarthClinic.com is a great place online to look up and research natural and alternative remedies. Bookmark them. I sure do. ❤

I started my own journey with the symptoms that were bothering me the most.  I researched it online, I asked for help at the health food store, I interviewed those who had conquered it successfully.  For me, I didn’t just want to know the remedy I needed, I went further, understanding why it helped.  If I tried something that didn’t work, I found out why it did not work.  You may not feel led to go that deep, but there may be some who want to take real charge of their health, and that is the key to starting, is finding out why and why not.

This again may seem too simple, but you have to start somewhere.  Finding out how to treat that headache today, maybe a year from now, you’re totally comfortable with a small handful of homeopathic remedies and essential oils and you’ve been able to toss that pharmaceutical headache medicine in the trash.  GREAT!  You don’t know all the homeopathic remedies or have a ton of essential oils, but you know some.  And the ones you do have, are making a huge difference for you and your family.

It all starts somewhere.  Don’t be overwhelmed.  Don’t feel like you have to learn it all overnight.  Become an expert for what your family is going through.  Just start with something you’re curious about and want to fix TODAY.  If you get stuck, need some direction/advice, this community is always here to help.  Feel free to email me:  BlackSheepPrincess@gmail.com, you can post a comment here, or post to my facebook wall.  This is all about your journey.  Don’t be afraid to own it.  ❤

