Tags

, , , ,

What is the HCG Diet?

This is the first post in a series about the HCG diet.  I get a lot of questions about what the HCG diet is, as it has been a wonderful companion to me on my journey of health and weight loss.  The HCG diet is definitely controversial, but then, so are things like breastfeeding and eating healthy.  Being controversial doesn’t really mean anything these days.   🙂

First of all, I am not a doctor, this is not health advice, I am not advising anyone that this is the right thing for them.  This is about me and what my journey has been like.  Period.  Always get informed, make your own decisions.  It’s your life, own it.

The HCG diet is a unique way to lose weight.  It was originally developed by Dr. A. T. W. Simeons over 50 years ago and was actually discovered completely by accident.  In other words, he wasn’t trying to find a way to lose weight to then make money off of it. That makes me feel better, lol.

HCG is actually a hormone that is created by the placenta during pregnancy.  What Dr. Simeons discovered is that the HCG hormone has a special ability to take stored and reserved fat in the body and turn it into usable calories to fuel the body, all the while at the same time protecting lean muscle in the body.  In order to trigger this process into happening, one must eat a specific and low calorie diet.

One of the common misconceptions about the HCG diet is that what is really making you lose weight is just the low calorie diet.  When people say this, I honestly laugh.  Have you ever tried to do that before?  Cause I have.  I have done extended fasting.  If you do low calorie diets alone, without the HCG, you don’t lose weight very fast at all.  The body enters into “starvation mode” and tries to hold onto all the fat it can, since it does not know how long the low calorie diet will be.  (The body is super smart.)  During low calorie diets alone, you also tend to lose lean muscle quickly, you get tired, cranky, your cravings for food go up, you’re extremely hungry, and all in all, you’re just not doing too well.  Any weight you lose, it is definitely NOT coming from your reserve fat stores, and you’re probably going to put back on real fast.  Low calorie diets alone are just not effective for losing mass amounts of weight, much less the right kind of weight loss, where it comes from reserved stores of fat on your body.

On the other hand, when you add HCG to a specific low calorie diet, your lean muscle is protected, you’re not hungry, you’re not cranky, you’re not tired, you lose weight, and you’re not starving yourself.  How can this be?  Because the HCG is there to trigger your body into releasing a flood of calories from your reserved fat cells, so you’re actually getting a lot more calories than what you are eating.  I’ve read statistics that show that your body can pull up around 2000 calories out of your fat daily while on the HCG diet and release them to you for fuel.  So say you’re eating a low calorie diet of 500 calories a day on the HCG diet.  With the fat being released, to your body, depending on what actually does end up getting released, it’s more like you’re eating 2500 calories instead.  Once you get past the first couple of days and the body really has flipped the switch into getting calories from your fat, it personally was pretty easy for me from there.  In fact, many days, I was so not hungry, that I would have to force myself to eat what my low calorie diet was.  Yes, really.  Not joking there.

So how fast can you expect to lose weight?  Well, everyone is different.  But the average is around a pound a day.  Yes, really.  I just said a pound a day.  You’re going to have to reprogram your mind to look at this differently than any other way you may have lost weight before.  I know the old programming says that if you lose weight too fast, that’s bad, and you won’t keep it off.  In some ways, that is true and some ways that isn’t.

Everyone puts on weight for different reasons.  For me, my issue was not a portion control issue, eating the wrong foods issue, nor was it an exercise issue.  In fact, my weight issue was not my fault.  Yes, really.  I’m one of the few who can actually say that.  (I’ll get more into my story on a later post, but it was caused by a doctor/hospital error.)  But of those people that I have interviewed, they said this really corrected not only their weight problem, but also helped them cure their problems with portion control, choosing/craving the wrong foods, as well as not wanting to exercise like they should.  When the HCG diet helps to correct the root problem of why you’ve had weight issues, then it doesn’t matter if you lose a pound a day.  By correcting the root issue of your weight problem, you’ve highly increased your chances of the weight staying off and not coming back.  If you think that you can do the HCG diet and not really correct the issue that is causing your weight problems, if you think you can lose the weight and go back to eating whatever junk you want while you spend all your time in front of the computer, then you’re wrong.  It will all come back.  On the other hand, in order to keep it off, you don’t have to keep taking the HCG for the rest of your life, you don’t have to eat perfectly or low calorie afterwards, and you don’t have to exercise all day like a hamster on a wheel.  You just have to be reasonable and have some balance.  🙂

This is just a quick overview of what the HCG diet is and a little bit on how it works.  Please stay tuned for more posts, as we get a more in-depth look at this diet and answer more of your questions.  If you have a specific question about the HCG diet, please email that to me:  BlackSheepPrincess@gmail.com.  Or you can post it to my facebook wall.  You may just see the answer to your question in an upcoming post!  Likewise, if you have had success in this diet and would like to be interviewed and share your story, contact me and you may be featured in an upcoming post.  If there are other topics you want to hear about, please let me know that as well.  I want to write about stuff that is relevant to you and your journey.  I can do that better if you send me some feedback and let me know what you want to see here on the BSP.  ❤
