Tags

, , , , , ,

My daughter is 13 months and has always been very even tempered.  Although there has been two times in her short life when she was short tempered for no apparent reason.  Yesterday was that second time.

I tried everything I usually do:  Rescue Remedy, Frankincense EO, Homeopathic teething remedies, etc.  And nothing worked.  She wasn’t overtired either.

As I sat and thought about it, I realized that we did something different that morning.  We had to run out the door quickly, and she didn’t get a part of her usual breakfast.  One thing I do is we make homemade bone broth from scratch and I put ghee in it for her.  I realized yesterday that she did not get that and that the very last time we were in a rush and she did not get ghee, we had the same thing happen, where she got very short tempered for no reason.

So I promptly went over and got a spoonful of ghee and gave it to her.  Almost instantly she calmed down and became her normal usual self again.  It was quite amazing.

You may be saying, wow, what a nice story this is.  But what in the world is ghee?  Ghee is simply clarified butter.  It’s real butter that has been heated and they skim off the watery layer as well as all the milk solids that separate from it.  What is left is ghee.  What makes ghee nice is that because the milk solids are separated, even people who have lactose intolerance usually have no issues with ghee.

Ghee is extremely rich in antioxidants.  It doesn’t need refrigeration, which is nice.  It has an incredible flavor.  Ghee can usually be found in your health food store, sometimes from a farmer’s market, and you can always make your own.  It’s really easy.

Ghee is known for a lot of health benefits.  According to the Bhavaprakasha 6.18.1, an ancient 16th Century Ayurvedic text, “Ghee is sweet in taste and cooling in energy, rejuvenating, good for the eyes and vision, kindles digestion, bestows luster and beauty, enhances memory and stamina, increases intellect, promotes longevity, is an aphrodisiac and protects the body from various diseases.”

Ghee is known to reduce inflammation, benefit nerve tissue, the brain, memory function, eye issues, is touted to help in detoxing the body, lubricate the joints, and even help with weight loss.  The rich fat it offers makes it ideal to eat during pregnancy and as an early food for young children where the brain is still highly in development.

Now, I already knew all of that.  But it still does not explain why it benefits my daughter’s temperament so much.  But I can tell you one thing, she’ll be getting that ghee everyday from now on, no matter what.  I can see the pattern of the difference it makes when she takes it as well as when she doesn’t.  I did not know about the health benefits of ghee during my pregnancy, but you can be sure that next time, I’ll be making it a huge staple as soon as I get that positive test. ❤

Want to see more?  Check out my facebook page.  ❤

